Southern Cross group board member profiles

Southern Cross's non-executive Board members who serve as Southern Cross Medical Care Society (Society) Directors and/or Southern Cross Health Trust (Trust) Trustees are:

Greg Gent (ONZM) - Chair, Southern Cross Health Trust (Healthcare)

Greg Gent joined the Southern Cross Boards in 2011 and was elected Chairman in 2014. Greg is a Northland dairy farmer with a wealth of governance experience. He is currently chair of Dairy Holdings Limited and director of Cooperative Business New Zealand and Maui Food Group Limited. From 2001 to 2011 he was a director of New Zealand’s largest co-operative business, Fonterra; he is a former chair of rural insurer FMG; and was a member of the Northland District Health Board from 2010 to mid-2015. Greg served as chair of the Society Board from 2014 to 2021.

Chair and Board member for: Trust, Trust subsidiaries.

Murray Jordan (MProp) - Chair, Southern Cross Medical Care Society

Murray Jordan joined the Trust and Society Boards in 2019 and was elected Chairman of the Society Board in 2021. He is a former Managing Director of Foodstuffs North Island – one of New Zealand’s largest businesses - and an experienced company director. Murray currently serves on the Boards of Metlifecare, Starship Foundation, Chorus, Metcash (an ASX listed company) and the Stevenson Group. His early career was in the property sector, and he holds a Masters degree in Property Administration from the University of Auckland.

Board member for: Society (Chair), Trust, Trust subsidiaries.

Catherine Drayton (BCom, LLB, FCA)

Catherine Drayton joined the Society Board in 2013 and the Trust Board in 2014, and is the chair of the Boards’ Audit and Risk Committees. She is a professional, non-executive director on a variety of boards. She is chair of Christchurch International Airport, Guardians of New Zealand Superannuation and Mint Innovation; and a director of Genesis Energy and Fronde Systems Group. Catherine is a former partner in charge of assurance and advisory services for PwC in Central and Eastern Europe, and is a fellow of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand.

Board member for: Society, Trust, Trust subsidiaries.

Roger France (ONZM, BCom, FInstD, FCA)

Roger France was elected to the Society Board in 2014 and is chair of the Investment Committee. He is a professional, non-executive director and chartered accountant; the chair of Tappenden Holdings; a trustee of the University of Auckland Foundation; and an advisory panel member of Next Foundation. Roger’s past Board appointments include Fonterra, Orion Health, Air New Zealand, Fisher and Paykel Healthcare, Blue Star Group and Team New Zealand. He was Chancellor of The University of Auckland between 2009 and 2012. Roger is a Fellow of both the New Zealand Institute of Directors and Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand.

Board member for: Society.

Chris Black (CA, DIP. ACC, B. SURV)

Chris Black joined the Society Board in 2021 and the Trust Board in 2022. He was Chief Executive of member based FMG between 2008 and 2021, and was an independent director of FMG prior to this. Chris has a wealth of experience in financial services, with particular expertise in corporate strategy, customer service, joint ventures, financial and risk management, and organisational change and development. Chris has been a member of the Insurance Council of NZ (ICNZ), including a three-year appointment as the ICNZ President, and was a Commissioner of the Insurance & Financial Services Ombudsman (IFSO) Scheme and board member of BNZ Life Insurance. He also served as a board member of the International Co-operative & Mutual Insurance Federation for eight years, including as vice-chair between 2019 and 2021.

Board member for: Society, Trust, Trust subsidiary.

David Bridgman (MCom, LLB, MINSTD, ACA)

David Bridgman joined the Society Board in 2021 and the Trust Board in 2022. He is an experienced advisor in corporate finance and restructuring. David retired from PwC at the end of 2020 after 22 years as a partner. He has worked extensively with many of New Zealand’s leading cooperatives and mutual organisations and currently chairs several private companies and provides corporate finance and strategic advisory services on his own account. David is a Chartered Accountant and a Member of the Institute of Directors.

Board member for: Society, Trust, Trust subsidiary.

Dr Martin Misur (BHB, MBChB, FANZCA)

Dr Martin Misur was appointed to the Trust Board in 2017 and elected to the Society Board in 2019. He is a Specialist Anaesthetist based at Auckland City Hospital and in private practice at Epsom Anaesthetic Partnership. Martin's clinical interests include anaesthesia for solid organ transplantation, hepatobiliary / upper gastrointestinal surgery, orthopaedics and complex urology. He has a strong interest in information technology and holds the position of Informatics Lead for ADHB’s Perioperative Directorate.

Board member for: Society, Trust, Trust subsidiaries.

Dr Arthur Morris (BSc(Hons), MD, D(ABMM), FRCPA)

Dr Arthur Morris joined the Trust Board in 2017. He is an Auckland-based clinical microbiologist who also works with the Health Quality and Safety Commission as a Clinical Lead. Arthur is a current director of Mercy Healthcare Auckland and Royal Australasian College of Pathologists Quality Assurance Programmes Limited. He is a trustee of the University of Auckland Medical and Health Science Foundation and University of Auckland Foundation. Arthur is a former Director of Fisher and Paykel Healthcare.

Board member for: Trust, Trust subsidiaries.

Julia Raue (CMinstD, GAICD)

Julia Raue joined the Society Board in 2015 and the Trust Board in 2021. She has extensive digital, customer, data, information technology, strategy and business transformation experience across a number of sectors including airline, telecommunications, local government and not-for-profit in New Zealand and Australia. Julia was previously Chief Information Officer of Air New Zealand (2007-2015) and was awarded the New Zealand CIO of the Year award in 2009. Julia has been a professional director since 2014 and is currently a director of Z Energy, The Warehouse Group and Jade Software; chair of the NZ Rugby Appointments and Remuneration Committee; and a trustee of Global Women.

Board member for: Society and Society subsidiary Southern Cross Pet Insurance Limited, Trust and Trust subsidiary.

Dr Dwayne Crombie (MBChB, DipComH, FAFPHM, NZCPHM)

Dr Dwayne Crombie joined the Trust Board in 2022. He has more than three decades of senior executive experience in both the public and private sectors, as well as extensive public, academic and private governance experience. Dwayne has worked for global healthcare organisation Bupa for 15 years in several Managing Director roles, and currently heads up Health Services within Bupa Asia Pacific. Prior to this, he was CEO for Waitemata Health and Waitemata DHB. Dwayne is currently the chair of Repromed Auckland, and is a Board member of Bupa Health Services, Bupa Innovations, Bupa Aged Care and George Health.

Board member for: Trust, Trust subsidiary.

Need a hand?

Get in touch

Customer enquiries, feedback and complaints.