Southern Cross is made up of various legal entities, united by a common brand, a not-for-profit philosophy and the goal of achieving better value healthcare for New Zealanders.

Southern Cross Medical Care Society

The Southern Cross Medical Care Society (our health insurance arm) is a not-for-profit Friendly Society constituted under the Friendly Societies and Credit Unions Act 1982. Its core business is providing health insurance for its 870,000 members. And, via subsidiary companies, it also provides wellness services, life insurance and pet insurance to New Zealanders.

The Society is governed by a Board of Directors who are elected by the members at the annual general meeting held in Auckland, Wellington or Christchurch.  Members can take part in the annual general meeting process by raising items of business, nominating Director candidates and voting online.

Southern Cross Health Trust

The Southern Cross Health Trust is a Charitable Trust registered as a charitable entity under the Charities Act 2005.  The Trust has a vision to make quality healthcare more affordable and accessible for a greater number of New Zealanders.  The Trust has two subsidiary companies – Southern Cross Hospitals Limited (which operates the hospital network and invests in other healthcare businesses) and Southern Cross Benefits Limited (which operates the travel insurance business).

The Trust is governed by a Board of Trustees appointed by the Board.  Trustees also serve as Directors on the subsidiary company Boards.

Other governance information